Why have more than one worship style?

Sometimes I’m right and I can be wrong. My own beliefs are in my song. Different strokes for different folks.” — “Everyday People”, Sly and the Family Stone

“May the beauty we love be what we do. There are a thousand ways to kiss the ground.” — Rumi

About liberalreligiongetsloud

Contemporary Music and Worship Director (retired), First Unitarian, Albuquerque NM
This entry was posted in contemporary worship. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why have more than one worship style?

  1. Christine Robinson says:

    Love your banner picture!

  2. Nicholas Payne says:

    I’m concerned because I think I discern a growing of “unitarian fundamentalism” (all right “uu-fundamentalism”), in which a lot of music (old, new,…) gets rejected for not being “unitarian enough”.

    • OK, you got my attention there. For a tradition that tells itself it honors all spiritual paths, it’s a strange position to take.

      Can you give some examples of songs that have been rejected on that basis? What did the people who were rejecting them say about them?

      • Nicholas Payne says:

        I hear from various
        quarters, mostly of course in my church, that we shouldn’t sing this song because it uses “lord” referring to god, or that gospel song (we had a black gospel choir director for several years) because it was too overtly christian. There are some classicists in the congregation who find anything pop sounding to be irreligious. We have ex-choir members who hated the teal hymnal (I find it too much of a sameness).

Leave a Reply

