Change is what’s constant.

John Buehrens did a weekend workshop for us last weekend, and something he said caught my ear as relevant to the task of revising our worship practices:

The typical Unitarian-Universalist thinks “Since I’m one of the wisest and most discerning people I know, this church must have been just about perfect when I found it. Therefore, it shouldn’t change, or that would reflect poorly on my judgment.”

That’s human nature, of course, but it’s also a potentially grave problem for anyone trying to rethink our worship style, to find what still works and what is just kept around out of habit. For some, those habits amount to self-validation, and when we start to mess with them, we can hurt people. As with everything associated with worship, care and discernment are required.

About liberalreligiongetsloud

Contemporary Music and Worship Director (retired), First Unitarian, Albuquerque NM
This entry was posted in contemporary worship. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Change is what’s constant.

  1. Andie says:

    And we wonder why we’re dying?

    Because nothing says smug and self-satisfied more than “I’m one of the wisest and most discerning people I know.” I know the attitude. I’ve seen it in action. And its vile. I realize its overcompensating for a deeper emptiness, but perhaps we should work on filling that emptiness and finding our humility.

Leave a Reply

